Through Grasslands Blowing

Poems and Things

Like cattle my poems are lowing,
Tender words through grasslands blowing.
Where in the world will they possibly go?
I love that I will never know. 

What beautiful creatures, my poems of mine
whose syllables often rhyme.
Here they are, standing tall.
Here, or not at all. 

Stoic and noble, in the field standing sure,
simply passed by are my creatures pure.
Their beauty is sweet tranquility,
peaceful, unknown antiquity. 

But my words are fragile and glass-like,
I don’t want them up in the limelight.
They’re beautiful, changed if by some seen,
turning into what I don’t mean.

My courage wanes keeping them up on the wall
with the faintest dab of Elmer’s at all.
It’s my place, my land of poems;
It’s just me here though they roam.

Strangers pass through but don’t know me;
Space between us nurtures solidarity.
What a fragile, weak, yet beautiful thing
the hope of a someone to hear me sing.

Like cattle my poems are lowing,
Tender words through grasslands blowing.
Where in the world will they possibly go?
I love that I will never know.

Leave a Reply

