Be Large

Poems and Things

I’m afraid to fill the page up,

But I won’t stop drawing either.

I’ll draw as tiny as I can

To hide my inhibitions.

 

And when I squint to see the ink

That’s gotten so much smaller,

I’ll see there’s nothing worse than that

Of trying far too little.

 

What’s stopping me from being large,

from putting paint to canvas?

The paint’s far too bright, their brows will furl;

They won’t understand the colors.

 

Some eyes will be closed, but it won’t be mine.

They’ll be open with gladness and wonder

For having the courage to draw large and see

That what I see is me.

2 thoughts on “Be Large

Leave a Reply

