Monday was bad, but not today… :)

Diabetes is Just a Word

Monday was terrible.

I went to the Endocrinologist and was going terribly high from breakfast, and they insisted I give them my pump to plug in and do a print out of my stats. I nearly was crying, I was so upset. The most upsetting thing was that my Endo said that cereal is what’s making me high in the morning, and she basically said, “Don’t eat cereal in the morning ever again.” And of course I was near tears because I love cereal… A lot. But my relationship with my beloved Cheerios was coming to an end, and my pregnancy hormones wouldn’t let me get over it until Tuesday morning.

Tuesday morning was scary. I was hungry and only wanted milk and Cheerios. But I followed a sample breakfast idea she printed out for me and made an english muffin with melted swiss cheese inside, a fried egg, and mayo. I would have had turkey bacon, but it was too frozen to fry. I had strawberries and a cup of milk on the side. IT WAS DELICOUS! And guys… I hate eating eggs. I actually enjoyed that meal. I’m awesome for being brave, guys. Shout out to me and a pat on the back!

I went on a walk 5-10 minutes after eating for about 30 minutes. I pushed it too, because I was eyeing my Dex and those arrows don’t lie, ya’ll. But I didn’t go over 123! It was a miracle! So I decided to stop cursing my Endo’s name and accept that she went to school for a reason.

Today I followed this low-carb recipe for pancakes and the same blood sugar story from Tuesday followed. I’m very pleased with my success. I couldn’t find the recipe again, but it’s so easy to remember. Here it is if you’re interested:

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 3.56.53 PM

LOW-CARB PANCAKES

2 oz cream cheese

2 eggs

1 tsp sugar (they suggest Stevia, but I didn’t have any. There are 4 g carbs in 1 tsp sugar)

1/2 tsp cinnamon

Instructions:

Heat skillet to medium heat.

Blend all ingredients

Spray pan, then pour thin pancakes

You got this

By the way, the pancakes fell apart big time for me… Maybe you’ll be more skilled than I was. They may not be the best-looking, but the carbs are really low, which is awesome. I had a cup or so of milk, cut up two strawberries, and smothered the recommended 1/4 cup serving size of lite syrup on top. LIVIN’ the LIFE!!! I’m awesome guys. I’m living here. And my baby is happy inside me too because I’m not blasting her with a crap-ton of sugar. If this helps you, I’m so glad! Have a good day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

